Day 10

Today I did another one of Dan’s suggestions. This time it was origami. So far Dan has suggested tea, origami, and Ponyo, so I’m starting to think he may have a secret obsession with Asia. At first I tried to do it on my own by following the instructions that came with the origami paper. This was a bad idea because the instructions made absolutely no sense.

Seriously, just try to follow these.

I actually shouldn’t say they made zero sense because I ended up making a couple of things just by following the instructions.

Like this Viking helmet!

However, what I really wanted to make was a crane (mostly because paper cranes seem like the epitome of origami), and I only got about three steps into the instructions for it before messing up. After about five steps I realized I’d messed up and couldn’t figure out what I was actually supposed to do. Fortunately Dan went through an origami phase as a kid and he has the steps to making a crane memorized. Apparently he was super into making them, and even though I kind of wanted to make fun of him for that, I didn’t because I really, really, really needed his help.

It was a lot easier to make it with his help. He made one along with me so that I could actually see each step, and he watched me fold mine so he could correct me when (even though I’d just seen him do it) I made the wrong folds. I’m proud of myself for actually making it, but I still need some practice.

The cranes! I made the red one, Dan made the dark green one, and our friend Taylor made the lime green one.

Despite the frustrating moments where I was about to rip the instructions into tiny pieces, it was a fun way to spend an hour. It takes all of your concentration so it’s a good way to take your mind off of more stressful things for a while. Since I worked mildly hard making these things, I want to show them off. So here are a couple more pictures for you to enjoy!

Everything we made. The blue thing is a cicada, and in the back there's a two-tone dog. Not that you needed me to tell you...

Dan showing off his work while wearing the Viking helmet. Doesn't it make him look tough?